Beauty, Product Reviews

Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Foundation – Product Review

MAYBELLINE DREAM MATTE MOUSSE FOUNDATION Retail – $6.70 (Target)

Color Options – 12 Shades (Classic Ivory to Cocoa)

Contains – 0.64 oz.

 

Hey everyone – hope you had a nice weekend!  I know mind went quick 🙂

Today I wanted to do another product review on a drugstore foundation that I am kind of on the fence about.  It is Maybelline’s Dream Matte Mousse foundation and I have it in the shade Classic Ivory, which is the lightest shade available and a pretty decent match for my skin tone.  However, since that is the lightest shade, this does not really have that much of a range for pale or fair skins.  Additionally, from just looking at the product in its packaging in the store, I do not think there are enough darker shades for deeper skin tones either, which is unfortunate for both ends of the spectrum.

IMG_8566
Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse

Now, the product itself is in a cute, little pot container which holds a little more than half the standard 1 oz amount.  At the low cost though, I can’t really complain about the amount of product too much.  Maybelline claims that this formula is a light-weight, medium to full coverage foundation that provides a matte finish for up to 16-hours.  That is a lot to live up to!!  

IMG_8567
Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Ingredients

For the most part, I think the foundation meets most of the claims advertised.  It does provide adequate coverage (more medium than full on my skin) and it is definitely a matte finish when first applied.  It also provides a super soft-focus effect which helps blur pores and minimize the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles, leaving your face looking really smooth and flawless.  I cannot say that it keeps me looking matte for more than a few hours though, which is pretty normal for my super oily skin.  That being said, it holds up great during blotting – it doesn’t wear off too much or separate completely.  

IMG_8561
Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Foundation Consistency

Now for the shortcomings – unfortunately, though it looks great when first applied, the application process itself is a complete PAIN!!  I’m not sure if I bought an expired product or just got a bad batch, but it is a very, almost gritty consistency.  Yes, it is light and airy like any other mousse formula, but there seem to be grains of foundation that did not fully mix into the whipped product and they don’t seem to blend into the skin – AT ALL!

IMG_8562
Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Foundation

As you can see in the swatches, even after blending, you can see the little dots of product that just don’t dissipate.  When applied on the face, it kind of looks like the product is pilling, but it really is just the formula.  Not sure if anyone else has this issues, but it is a huge pain, especially when you are in a rush doing your makeup in the morning before work (like I do LOL)!  

Struggle Factor – 4:  I do really like the foundation – how flawless it looks once applied and how it wears throughout the day – but I am not sure if I would recommend this to anyone given the experience I have had with the formula.  It is difficult to work with and the shade range is not adequate in my opinion.  There are way better drugstore foundations on the market that are much more user friendly and cover more skin types and tones.  Maybelline also makes a Dream Liquid Mousse foundation which, as the name implies, is a liquid consistency rather than a mousse.  I’m not sure if it is supposed to be as matte as the mousse version, but I may give this a try to see if it gives the same results without the painful application.

 

How about you?  Have any of you tried the Dream Matte Mousse foundation?  Did you have the same experience as me or something different?  Has anyone tried the Dream Liquid Mousse version and if so, what did you think?  Let me know in the comments below and I’ll talk to you next time!!

8 thoughts on “Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Foundation – Product Review”

    1. Hey Amanda! No, I haven’t experienced any stickiness with the Dream Matte Mousse. It actually dries down to a nice matte finish so there’s not tacky feeling :). Thanks for dropping by and for the question!

      Like

Leave a comment