Awards

Liebster Award!!

Hey all! This is a bonus post since the very lovely NNK Skincare nominated me for the Liebster Award.  If you don’t follow NNK Skincare already – you’re missing out!!  

03f32f_eb89d13eedcc489cbdffae393dd5c6admv2

Thank you so much for the nomination, Nafisah 🙂

 

This is my first time being nominated for any blogging award and I’m so honored (and excited)!  If any of you are new to this – you’re not alone, because I am too!  But the Liebster Award is given out by influencers to other influencers for engaging readers and creating valuable content. It is also a way to connect and support the blogging/influencer community.

Rules are listed below, but if you want to learn more about it visit The Global Aussie.  

RULES:

Thank the person who nominated you and leave a link to their blog.
Answer the questions they have asked you.
Nominate as many bloggers as you want.
Ask them some questions.
Let them know you have nominated them.

 

Questions for me to answer:

1.) Tell us a little about yourself?

My name is Simone Vitale and I’m 26 years old.  I am a Chemical Engineer and my dream job is to get into skincare/cosmetics production and eventually start a company of my own.  I went to a small, private college that had a low percentage of women so I joined a sorority called Delta Phi Epsilon and made some of the best friends a girl could ask for.  Surrounding myself with so many amazing “sisters” certainly made my college experience that much better, being that I am one of 6 kids – I have a younger brother, three older sisters and an older brother.  My parents are the best a girl could ask for and made growing up in a full house of 8, an absolute adventure!  My oldest brother and sister each have two kids (1 neice & 3 nephews total), so needless to say family gatherings are still just as crazy – but I love it!


2.) What is your blog about and what inspired you to start it?

My blog, Skincare Struggles, is all about skincare and beauty.  I have struggled with acne since maybe 8th grade (13-years old) and tried it all with my dermatologist all throughout high school and college.  My self esteem really took a hit and I never felt like myself until college.  This was when I started becoming more involved in the products and ingredients I was using rather than just taking what was given to me.  I think I’ve finally gotten a handle on what my skin needs and when – but it is constantly changing so my products have to be updated accordingly.  I wanted to start a blog to help guide or just support any of you going through something similar.  I do go into some beauty reviews as well since I think makeup and skincare go hand and hand.  Both can be used to enhance your natural beauty or correct anything you’re self conscious about – if used correctly.  I’m still new to blogging and I really love any and all feedback on what you like or hate or want to see more/less of – so I’m open to any recommendations or tips 🙂

3.) Do/Did you consider rebranding your blog at some point?

I think since I’m so new to blogging that this has not even really come up yet.  I’m still trying to get my feet back on the ground and into a routine of posting amazing and relatable content.  Rebranding may come up in the future, but for right now I like where I’m at!

4.) Who is your favorite blogger and why? *PS – I think I’m supposed to write like 150 words on this so I tried to do as much as possible without going overboard*

I’m a big fan of Sarah at lifewithlilred.  Her blog is amazing and extremely relatable since she posts on a wide variety of topics, which I find very comforting in the online world.  When I read her posts it feels like I’m just hanging out with friends or family.  I love her fashion posts since she is a self-proclaimed Maxxinista.  I appreciate that she promotes the belief that fashion and style – much like beauty & confidence – does not depend on how much money you’ve spent, but on the way you choose to present yourself to the world.  If you love something – go for it!  You don’t have to spend your entire paycheck on the latest and greatest – though you can if you want to – no judgement, we’ve all been there!! I appreciate how comfortable she is with herself because that really comes out in her writing and makes all her readers, new and old, instantly trust and respect her.  I’ve only just started following her, but she seems like a genuinely kind person and I find myself looking forward to her posts more and more!

5.) What was your childhood like?

As I mentioned earlier, growing up in a house of 8 was amazing – for the most part LOL.  Of course, like any other family, living with a mom, dad, 2 brothers and 3 sisters can be…trying..at times.  We all shared bedrooms with 2 to a room.  My brothers had one, then the four girls split the other two rooms.  Though I am lucky to be super close to all of my siblings, growing up that close together made personal space almost non-existent.  I remember some pretty epic screaming battles with my sister, Stacy, who I roomed with for most of my childhood – things were thrown, Barbie dolls were decapitated and tears were shed – ah to be a teenage girl again!  I don’t know how my parents put up with all of us in our angsty years but I’m glad they did!!  I wouldn’t trade my upbringing for anything in the whole world – it shaped me into the person I am, which I hope others see as kind, smart, loyal and dependable (bahah – that makes me sound like a dog, but I love dogs so I’ll take it!).  

6.) Would you describe yourself as an introvert or extrovert?

Hmm…can I say both?  If I had to choose only one, I’d probably lean towards extrovert, but I honestly think I’m a mixture of both depending on who I am with.  Around my closest friends/family – definitely extrovert.  To the point of being an annoying, hyperactive child according to my older siblings while growing up!  However, around new people or just in new situations, I tend to be more introverted.  I wouldn’t say that I’m painfully shy or anything – I definitely still speak/stand up for myself and others no matter what the situation – but I guess I’m just a little wary of new people.  I’m the type of person who would rather have very few family like friends versus having a lot of superficial acquaintances – and I wouldn’t have it anyother way!

7.) What is your favorite fashion item?

SWEATS!!!!  I am a comfort girl all the way.  While I love to dress up and look fancy – my go tos are yoga pants or sweatpants with sweatshirts or hoodies.  If I’m not in comfy clothes though, I prefer dresses since they’re so easy to just throw on and look instantly put together!

8.) What’s your best sport activity?

Haha – anyone that knows me probably would say NOTHING! I’m not the greatest athlete ever mainly because I’m kind of lazy lol.  But I can hold my own in most sports when I want to and I played lacrosse in high school.  I aso enjoy volleyball – especially the beach variety 🙂

My Nominees:

Chic Neat & Sweet

Selty Swatches

Finding Beauty Middle East

Kinda Puffy

Galelagasetheblog
Questions for my nominees to answer:

1.) Tell us a little about yourself?

2.) What is your blog about and what inspired you to start it?

3.) Who is your favorite blogger and why?

4.) When you were little what did you want to be when you grew up?

5.) Give a tip for other bloggers or potential blog starters.

6.) What is the best advice anyone has ever given to you?

7.) What is the destination of the trip of your dreams?

8.) Apple or Samsung?

9.) What is the scariest thing you have experienced while travelling?

10.) Name the top 3 most beautiful beaches you have visited.

11.) Marvel or DC?

2 thoughts on “Liebster Award!!”

Leave a Reply

