Beauty, Lookbook

Look Book – Feat. Tarteist PRO Glitter Liner

Hiya!! Welcome back – if you’re new – thanks for checking out my blog 🙂

 

I thought I would try something different today and do a quick look on here featuring a bold wing. (PS – Ignore the brows, I’ve been growing them out and they look awful in this picture LOL)

test

I did this look for a bit of fun on Easter.  We usually keep the day very low-key in my family so I thought this was a cute way to dress up without wearing something fancy.  The best thing about it is that you can literally use ANY palette or eyeshadows you have in your collection.  The only thing you really need to recreate it is some type of metallic eyeliner.  I’m using the limited-edition tarteist PRO glitter liner Eye Jewels from Tarte.  

To start off the look, I primed my lids with Urban Decay’s Primer Potion in Original, then I set it using my translucent setting powder (I think at the time I was using the CoverGirl Professional Loose Powder in Translucent Fair).  Then, using a fluffy blending brush (my favorites are the Luxie, Sigma, and Sedona Lace versions) I put a light matte brown shadow only a shade or so darker than my skin tone (bottom row, third from left), through the crease as a light transition shade.  I think for this look used the Smashbox Full Exposure palette, but as I said earlier – you can use whatever ones you have.

IMG_6984 (2)
Smashbox Full Exposure Palette

After that, I went in with a slightly deeper brown (bottom row, second from the left) on a more precise brush and kept that tighter within the crease and only brought it to about a third or halfway across the lid.  I made sure to really blend that medium brown into the light transition color with a clean fluffy brush so it really looked seamless.   The last shadow I used was a nice deep, dark brown (left most shade on bottom row) on a pencil brush – making sure to keep that color really concentrated to the outer corner.  I took that clean fluffy brush again to really soften that darker shade until I was happy with it.  Using a matte cream shade from the palette (bottom row, fourth from the left), I took a flat shader brush and put that on the brow bone and inner corner for a subtle highlight without adding any shimmer.  Then I mixed a blend of all three of the shades we used earlier on that pencil brush and ran it under the lower lash line.  I blended it out further with the clean brush we’ve been using and made sure it was really blown out before moving on to the start of the show – the winged liner :).  

IMG_6986 (2)
Tarte Tarteist Eye Jewels in White Gold

Again, I’m using a Tarte liner here, but since it was a limited edition, it’s no longer available.  However, their new holiday collection has the same gold liner in this set and this one.  Also, a few other brands make similar liners line this one from UD in Goldrush or this NYX version as well.  Using the metallic side rather than the glitter end, I started by drawing a thin line from the middle of my lid to my outer corner.  Then, following the line of my lower waterline, I started to slightly flick the wing out.  I found that these types of liners make the wing part of eyeliner a bit easier since the brush is super thin and quite long.  You can literally place the brush horizontally along your eye and just press to get that crisp lower line, then tilt it on a very small angle to create the top half of the wing and connect it to the line along the lid.  Then it’s just a matter of filling in the outline with more liner, and I think I used about two coats of liner to get the opacity and metallic-ness here.  I finished with a coat of mascara to my top and bottom lashes, but you could totally add falsies as well 🙂

IMG_6988 (2)
Tarte Tarteist PRO Glitter Liner – Metallic Side

I really enjoyed doing this eye look and honestly, besides for the eyeliner it was a really simple look to achieve.  I love the fact that it is all matte except for that bright metallic liner.  It really ensures that the wing is the main focal point of the look.  Obviously, you can switch out the eyeshadows to be maybe cool-toned taupes or greys with a metallic silver liner, or blushes and mauves with a nice rose gold wing.  

 

Struggle Factor: 3.5 – Though the actual shadow look itself is pretty straight-forward and simple, the wing can be difficult if you are not used to doing them.  I am still practicing my winged liners and obviously I am no expert!!  But it is still definitely doable for a special occasion if you just take your time and maybe try it a time or two before 🙂

 

Either way, I hope you enjoyed this look and let me know if you tried it out or would like more of these types of posts!!

3 thoughts on “Look Book – Feat. Tarteist PRO Glitter Liner”

Leave a Reply

