Skincare

My Skin History

Hello my fellow skin strugglers!  I figured what better post to start this blog than one dedicated to my skin type and history.  As I’ve said in my “About Me” post, my skin is extremely oily and acne prone with some pretty large pores.  I was going to a dermatologist pretty regularly in middle school (probably around 11 or 12 years old) through high school due to my breakouts.  As a result, I have some pretty noticeable – I don’t really know what to call it – scarred pores, pitting scarring?  The texture of my skin is a freaken mess!  And to add insult to injury, I still get breakouts!

Now, in the past I have tried prescriptions from my dermatologist (including Retin-A Micro, Epi-duo, BenzaClin, pills and more), drugstore brands (Neutrogena, Clean & Clear, Clearasil, etc) as well as online systems such as ProActiv and ProActiv+.  Usually, my skin starts to clear up and the products work for a bit, but then my skin gets used to them and the progress slows down until I’m back to where I started.  Due to this, my doctor – and myself when I stopped going to appointments, had to switch up my routines frequently.  Now you can imagine how frustrating this was to a pre-teen/teenager going through school with nothing that could clear up my face.  Needless to say, I was not the most confident or outgoing person through those years.  However, once my hormones started settling – late-teens, early twenties – I noticed the breakouts were less frequent and less severe (though they were definitely not gone completely).  This is when I stopped going to the doctor and started using drugstore products and the original ProActiv system again.  Switching up between a few different products kept my issues mainly at bay – but it was college!! Some of my habits started to take a back burner to studying or working or just socializing.  There were more than a few nights that I just fell asleep in whatever makeup I was wearing the day before – even a few times I woke up with a face of makeup after a late night of studying only to head straight back to class in the morning with the same makeup on!!  I know – gross, right?!  But honestly, it happens.  And I can’t say that I noticed more or less breakouts on those nights compared to the other 95% of the time that I would fully wash my face and finish my night routine.  This was, however, when I started being more concerned about how my face looked without makeup.  My pores were huge, my scarring was bad, and I started to notice wrinkles around my eyes for the first time ever!! Needless to say, I panicked and starting looking into more skincare solutions – on a college budget.

This is where my real experimentation began.  I did my own research, asked a lot of experts, and did a BUNCH of trial & error until I found what really worked for me!  My next post is going to cover everything I am currently using and LOVING – but let me know if you guys also want a post on the products I’ve used in the past so I can review what worked and what didn’t, as well as what I would and would not try again now.  

Next post will be on my current skincare routine and what has been really working on me for the past year or two.  

See yas then!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

